The Chakras, to keep it simple, are energy points along the spine. They, not surprisingly, correspond to the colors of the rainbow (different colors of visible light). From bottom to top, 1 to 7, ROYGBIV… Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Indigo, Violet. Each color corresponds to a chakra, and each chakra controls and identifies with a different energy, organs and manifestations.

Let’s keep it short and simple for quick and easy reference.

  1. Muladhara: The Root Chakra
    • Emotional attributes: Safety and security. This chakra keeps us grounded and connected to the earth and physical world.
    • Location: The tailbone
    • Mantra: “I am…”
    • Color: Red
    • Gemstone: Agate, Tiger’s Eye, Bloodstone, Black Tourmaline
    • Out of balance attributes: Insecurity, anxiety and fear
  2. Svadhishthana: The Sacral Chakra. This chakra is the energy point for sexuality and creativity.
    • Location: Below the navel
    • Mantra: “I feel…”
    • Color: Orange
    • Gemstone: Citrine, Carnelian, Moonstone
    • Out of balance attributes: Lack of creativity, sexual dysfunction and emotional isolation
  3. Manipura: The Solar Plexus Chakra.
    • Emotional attributes: Will power, self esteem
    • Location: Below the chest
    • Mantra: “I do…”
    • Color: Yellow
    • Gemstone: Malachite, Calcite, Topaz
    • Out of balance attributes: Low self esteem, manipulation, abuse of power
  4. Anahata: The Heart Chakra
    • Emotional attributes: Love, love of self, compassion, altruism
    • Location: The heart/center of the chest
    • Mantra: “I love…”
    • Color: Green
    • Gemstone: Rose Quartz, Jade, Tourmaline
    • Out of balance attributes: Depression, poor self control, relationship difficulty
  5. Vishuddha: The Throat Chakra
    • Emotional attributes: Effective communication through speech
    • Location: The throat/center of the neck
    • Mantra: “I speak…”
    • Color: Blue
    • Gemstone: Turquoise, Lapis Lazuli, Aquamarine
    • Out of balance attributes: Anxiety, shyness, arrogance
  6. Ajna: The Third Eye Chakra
    • Emotional attributes: Intuition, Imagination
    • Location: The center of the forehead
    • Mantra: “I see…”
    • Color: Indigo
    • Gemstone: Amethyst, Black Obsidian, Fluorite
    • Out of balance attributes: Lack of mental clarity
  7. Sahasrara: The Crown Chakra
    • Emotional attributes: Higher consciousness, divine connection (this is the hardest chakra to open/balance. make sure you have a strong root chakra before attempting to work on the crown)
    • Location: Top of the head
    • Mantra: “I know…”
    • Color: Violet/White
    • Gemstone: Selenite, Amethyst, Clear Quartz
    • Out of balance attributes: Close mindedness, disconnection

There you have it. A super quick and easy reference for the chakra points!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: